Leave a comment

Islanders Release ’13-’14 Schedule

The New York Islanders released their schedule for the 2013-14 regular season. The team will have their home opener at Nassau Coliseum on Saturday, October 5 at 7 p.m. against the Columbus Blue Jackets.

Islanders celebrating. Photo by:  Stacy Podelski

Islanders celebrating. Photo by: Stacy Podelski

With the debut of the NHL newly formatted divisions this season, the 82-game schedule will see the Islanders take on the Devils and Rangers five time each, with meetings against their Metropolitan rivals in the month of October.

The Islanders Playoff-rivals the Pittsburgh Penguins will return to Uniondale on Tuesday, December 2 and Thursday, January 23. New York will take on Carolina, Columbus, Pittsburgh, Philly and Washington two times each at Nassau Coliseum.

Here is a breakdown of the Metropolitan Division matchups at Nassau Coliseum:

DATE OPPONENT TIME
Saturday, Oct. 5 Columbus Blue Jackets 7 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 19 Carolina Hurricanes 7 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 26 Philadelphia Flyers 7 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 29 New York Rangers 7 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 30 Washington Capitals 7 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 3 Pittsburgh Penguins 7 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 28 New Jersey Devils 7 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 4 Carolina Hurricanes 7 p.m.
Monday, Jan. 20 Philadelphia Flyers 1 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 23 Pittsburgh Penguins 7:30 p.m.
* WEDNESDAY, JAN. 29 NEW YORK RANGERS 7 p.m.
Saturday, Mar. 1 New Jersey Devils 1 p.m.
Sunday, Mar. 23 Columbus Blue Jackets 1 p.m.
Saturday, Mar. 29 New Jersey Devils 7 p.m.
Saturday, Apr. 5 Washington Capitals 5 p.m.

 

New York will play at least one home and one road game against every team in the National Hockey League this year. The NHL will go on hiatus in mid-February for the 2014 Winter Olympics, with the Islanders off from Feb. 9-26.

The Islanders are slated to host several games surrounding the National Holidays this season, starting with the day before Thanksgiving matchup against the Winnipeg Jets on Wednesday, Nov. 27.

The home finale for New York will be on April 8 versus the Ottawa Senators.

For more team information, rosters and more fans are encouraged to visit:

www.newyorkislanders.com

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: