Leave a comment

Fordham Football Rewarded by Patriot League

After winning the 2014 Patriot League Title the Fordham University Football team received two major Patriot League postseason awards along with 13  First Team All-Patriot League honors, while another five Rams received Second Team accolades on Tuesday.

Fordham Football. Photo by: Stacy Podelski/1495 Sports

Fordham Football. Photo by: Stacy Podelski/1495 Sports

Senior Quarterback Mike Nebrich and freshman Running back Chase Edmonds were named offensive player of the year and rookie of the year, respectively, in a vote among the league’ head coaches, as well as being named to the First Team All-Patriot League honors.

Joining Nebrich and Edmonds in earning First Team honors are Sam Ajala (WR), Tebucky Jones. Jr. (WR), Dan Light(TE), Mason Halter (OL), Garrick Mayweather (OL), Matt Stolte (OL), Brian Wetzel (RS), Brett Biestek (DL), DeAndre Slate (DL), Austin Hancock (LB), Jordan Chapman (DB), Ian Williams (DB) and Michael Marando (PK). Being placed on the Second Team are Brian Wetzel (WR), Joe Mizera (OL), De’Nard Pinckney (LB), Jake Dixon (DB) and Joseph Pavlik(P).

Fordham found success on both sides of the ball, with the offense scoring 40 points or more in nine of the 12 games this fall, accumulating 506 points for the season, 20 points shy of the school record set last year.

Defensively, the Fordham defense ranks sixth in the NCAA FCS in passing yards allowed (151.6/game) and leads the Patriot League in team tackles for loss.

The Rams, ranked ninth in the Sports Network poll and 12th in the NCAA FCS Coaches poll, return to action on Saturday, November 29, as they host the Sacred Heart University Pioneers in the first round of the 2014 NCAA Division I Football Championship on Jack Coffey Field at 12:00 p.m.

For more information on Fordham Football fans are encouraged to click here:



%d bloggers like this: