Leave a comment

New York Liberty Announce 2014 Regular Season Schedule

The New York Liberty will make its long-awaited return to the  completely transformed Madison Square Garden when it hosts the Chicago Sky on May 17 at 7 p.m. The Liberty will open the 2014 regular season, its 18th in franchise history, on May 16 at 7 p.m. on the road against the Connecticut Sun.

The team will host 17 home games at The Garden during the 2014 regular season, following a three-year stint in Newark, NJ at the Prudential Center while The Garden underwent a historic $1 billion Transformation. The home schedule features matchups against title contenders Phoenix, Indiana and Atlanta as well as 2013 WNBA Champion Minnesota. The Liberty will play a five-game set, its longest home stand of the season, beginning with the Atlanta Dream on Jun. 22, followed by matchups against the Chicago Sky (Jun. 27), Connecticut Sun (Jun. 29), Tulsa Shock (Jul. 1) and Minnesota Lynx (Jul. 6). The game against the Lynx will be nationally-televised on ESPN2.

The Liberty will face Eastern Conference opponents in seven of its final eight games of the season as teams make a push for the playoffs. New York closes out the regular season on Aug. 17 at home against Indiana.

New York, led by perennial All-Star Cappie Pondexter, enters its second season under head coach and general manager Bill Laimbeer. Laimbeer was a three-time WNBA Champion during his previous stint in the league as head coach of the Detroit Shock (now Tulsa). Liberty All-Star forward Essence Carson is also expected to return. Carson suffered a season-ending torn left anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) in 2013.

The Liberty will host several exciting theme nights at The Garden throughout the season, including Dad’s and Daughter’s Day, Inspiring Women Night, Pride Day, Hoops for Troops, Breast Health Awareness and the annual Camp Day game.

Season ticket packages are available by calling 212-465-6766 or by visiting NYLiberty.com.


2014 New York Liberty

Regular Season Schedule


Fri. 16            at Connecticut        7:00 pm

Sat. 17           vs. Chicago           7:00 pm

Sat. 24           at Minnesota          7:00 pm

Tue. 27          vs. Seattle            7:00 pm

Fri. 30            at Washington        7:00 pm

Sat. 31           at Indiana             7:00 pm



Thu.  5           vs. San Antonio      7:00 pm

Sun.  8           vs. Washington      3:00 pm

Tue. 10          at Tulsa                11:30 am

Fri. 13            vs. Connecticut      7:30 pm

Sun. 15          at Connecticut        1:00 pm

Wed. 18         at Chicago             11:30 am

Fri. 20            at Atlanta              7:30 pm

Sun. 22          vs. Atlanta            3:00 pm

Fri. 27            vs. Chicago           7:30 pm

Sun. 29          vs. Connecticut      3:00 pm



Tue.  1           vs. Tulsa               7:00 pm

Sun.  6           vs. Minnesota        2:00 pm

Wed.  9          at San Antonio       7:00 pm

Fri. 11            vs. Los Angeles      7:30 pm

Wed. 16         vs. Atlanta            11:00 am

Wed. 23         at Los Angeles       7:30 pm

Thu. 24          at Seattle              7:00 pm

Sat. 26           at Phoenix             7:00 pm

Tue. 29          vs. Washington      7:00 pm

Thu. 31          at Chicago             7:00 pm



Sun.  3           at Atlanta              3:00 pm

Tue.  5           at Washington        7:00 pm

Fri.  8            vs. Connecticut      7:30 pm

Sun. 10          vs. Indiana            3:00 pm

Tue. 12          vs. Phoenix           7:00 pm

Thu. 14          at Indiana             7:00 pm

Sat. 16           at Washington        7:00 pm

Sun. 17          vs. Indiana            6:00 pm

%d bloggers like this: