Leave a comment

USA Basketball to Host Men’s Junior National Team Minicamp in New Orleans

Forty-eight athletes will participate in a USA Basketball Men’s Junior National Team minicamp from April 1-3 in New Orleans in conjunction with the 2022 NCAAFinal Four. The minicamp includes participating in the NCAANext Generation Sunday on April 3.

Minicamp participants and coaches were selected by the USA Basketball Men’s Developmental National Team Committee and will represent the high school graduating classes of 2023, 2024 and 2025. In addition to on-court drills and scrimmages, the athletes and their parents will participate a series of educational programs presented by USA Basketball and the NCAA.

On Sunday, April 3, athletes from the high school class of 2023 will take part in an intrasquad scrimmage on the court at the Caesars Superdome, site of the 2022 NCAAMen’s Final Four. Also Sunday, members of the classes of 2024 and 2025 will conduct an intrasquad scrimmage at the Ochsner Sports Performance Center, home of the NBA’s New Orleans Pelicans. Minicamp participants will also attend Saturday night’s semifinal games.

“USA Basketball always makes the most of opportunities to engage with young athletes,” said Sean Ford, committee chair and USA Basketball’s Men’s National Team director. “Junior national team minicamps give athletes and their families the opportunity to learn more about USA Basketball and our values in a competitive and educational environment.”

Minicamp coaches include USA Basketball veterans Dominic AmorosaRob BrostMarshall ChoEric FlanneryNick LoGalboSteve TurnerSharman White and Ras Vanderloo.

Representing the class of 2023 are Marvel Allen, Xavier Booker, Matt Bewley, Jordan Butler, Matas Buzelis, Kanaan Carlyle, Coen Carr, Jacolb Cole, Isaiah Collier, Jaylen Curry, Dennis Evans III, Brandon Garrison, Ron Holland, Gregory ‘GG’ Jackson, Jalen Lewis, Justin McBride, Jared McCain, Arrinten Page, Dennis Parker Jr., Jaylin Stewart, Sean Stewart, DaJuan Wagner Jr., Ja’Kobe Walter, Bryson Warren and Wesley Yates III.

Expected to attend from the class of 2024 are Marcus Allen, Karris Bilal, James Brown, Carlton Carrington III, David Castillo, Naasir Cunningham, Isaiah Elohim, Ian Jackson, Karter Knox, Liam McNeeley, Vyctorius Miller, Jase Richardson Jr., Khani Rooths and Bryson Tucker.

Castillo, Curry, Holland, Jackson, Lewis, McBride, McNeely and Tucker represented USA Basketball at the 2021 FIBA Americas U16 Championship, where the U.S. won its seventh consecutive U16 gold medal.

Participants from the class of 2025 include Cameron Boozer, Cayden Boozer, Cooper Flagg, Jeremiah Green, Elzie ‘Darrell’ Harrington, Isiah Harwell, Koa Peat, Darryn Peterson and Bryson Tiller.

Leave a Reply