Leave a comment

News and Notes from the New York Mets

Citi Field . Photo by: Stacy Podelski

The New York Mets (56-52) who are currently in First Place in the National League East Standings have made some exciting announcements for next years schedule, in addition to adding a cool promotion for the fans for this season.

First of all the New York Mets recently announced that the club will open the 2022 regular season on Thursday, March 31 against the Washington Nationals at Citi Field. The opening homestand will continue Saturday and Sunday vs. the Nationals before the Atlanta Braves visit Citi Field, Monday, April 4-Tuesday, April 5.

Highlights of the 2022 home schedule include:

  • Philadelphia Phillies                Friday, May 27-Sunday, May 29
  • Washington Nationals             Monday, May 30-Wednesday, June 1 (Memorial Day is May 30)
  • Miami Marlins                          Friday, June 17-Monday, June 20 (Father’s Day is June 19)
  • San Diego Padres                   Friday, July 22-Sunday, July 24
  • Subway Series vs. Yankees    Tuesday, July 26-Wednesday, July 27
  • Los Angeles Dodgers              Tuesday, August 30-Thursday, September 1

Additional Interleague Series at Citi Field include:

  • Seattle Mariners                      Friday, May 13-Sunday, May 15
  • Houston Astros                        Tuesday, June 28-Wednesday, June 29
  • Texas Rangers                        Friday, July 1-Sunday, July 3

Promotional details for the 2022 season will be announced in the months ahead.

Fans can place season ticket deposits for 2022 now at Mets.com/2022. For additional season ticket information call 718-507-TIXX.

In addition the team also announced the club and Marvel Entertainment are collaborating on a special two-day promotion featuring Mets infielder Pete Alonso on Thursday, August 12 and Friday, August 13. This collaboration will mark the first of its kind for the Mets and Marvel, as one of the “Amazins” is transformed into an original Super Hero, coming to life with an exclusive collector’s item bobblehead and an origin story in a Marvel comic book. Tickets are available now at Mets.com/Tickets.

On Thursday, August 12 vs. the Washington Nationals, the first 15,000 fans in attendance will receive a Polar Bear Pete Alonso Super Hero™ Comic Book. The following night, Friday, August 13 vs. the Los Angeles Dodgers, the first 25,000 arriving fans will receive a Polar Bear Pete Alonso Super Hero™ Bobblehead.

“This comic book and bobblehead are super cool,” Alonso said. “I’ve loved everything Marvel since I was a kid. It was awesome to see myself as a Super Hero and I can’t wait for Mets fans to get their hands on these, they’re going to love them.”

This collaboration builds on the Mets and Marvel’s longstanding relationship. Over the past few seasons, the Mets and Marvel have worked together to create a number of exciting exclusives, including two Noah Syndergaard bobbleheads and a t-shirt that played off of his resemblance to the Mighty Thor, and an exclusive Spider-Man bobblehead design in the Mets’ team colors. Most recently, Alonso was also involved in Marvel Comics’ Hellfire Gala, a comic book event featuring Marvel’s X-Men earlier this summer. The deal was facilitated by AthLife, Inc, Marvel’s longtime sports representative.

For more information on the New York Mets fans are encouraged to click on the link seen here:

https://www.mlb.com/mets

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: