Leave a comment

Washington Spirit stars O’Hara and Sonnett Named to USWNT Roster for Tokyo Olympics

U.S. Women’s National Team Head Coach Vlatko Andonovski has named Spirit defenders Kelley O’Hara and Emily Sonnett to the roster for the Tokyo Olympic Games. 

The team will play two games against Mexico prior to leaving for Tokyo. Both matches will be played in Hartford, CT with the first being on July 1 (7 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1) and the second on July 5 (5 p.m. ET on ESPN). At the Olympics, the USWNT will kick off play on July 21 against Sweden (5:30 p.m. JST/4:30 a.m. EST). On July 24, the number one ranked team in the world will take on New Zealand (8:30 p.m. JST/7:30 a.m. EST). The USWNT will wrap up Group G play against Australia on July 27 (5:00 p.m. JST/4:00 a.m. EST). 

This will be the third Olympics for O’Hara after appearing for the USWNT at the 2012 London and 2016 Rio Olympics. In the most recent Summer Series, O’Hara appeared in two of the three matches, playing all 90 in the final match against Nigeria. 

After being named an alternate for the 2016 Rio Olympics, Sonnett is headed to the Olympics as part of the full roster for the first time. At the Summer Series, Sonnett appeared in all three matches, starting one. 

For more information on the US Women’s Soccer team fans are encouraged to click on the link seen here:

USWNT | World Cup Champions | U.S. Soccer Official Site (ussoccer.com)

For more information on the Washington Spirit fans are encouraged to click on the link seen here:

Washington Spirit » Professional Women’s Soccer in DC

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: