Leave a comment

Hofstra has Four players Honored By CAA; Coburn Receives Two Special Awards

The Hofstra Men’s Basketball team giving high fives to fans at the Barclays Center. Photo by: Stacy Podelski/1495 Sports

Four different members of the Hofstra Men’s Basketball team received postseason honors from the Colonial Athletic Association, it was announced today.

Highlighting the awards was senior Tareq Coburn earning both the CAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award as well as the Dean Ehlers Leadership Award. The Ehlers Award is presented annually to the men’s basketball student-athlete who “embodies the highest standards of leadership, integrity and sportsmanship in conjunction with his academic athletic achievement.”

Senior Jalen Ray was named to the All-CAA First Team, junior Isaac Kante picked up All-CAA Second Team accolades, Coburn added All-CAA Third Team honors to his haul, and freshman Kvonn Cramer earned a spot on the CAA All-Rookie Team.

Ray leads Hofstra, and ranks second in the CAA, in scoring at 18.6 points per game as he has started all 21 games this season. A two-time CAA Player of the Week award winner this season, he leads the Pride with 54 three-pointers and ranks third in the CAA in three-pointers made per game (2.6). Ray, who ranks fifth all-time at Hofstra with 211 three-pointers and 21st all-time in scoring at Hofstra with 1,280, poured in a career-best 30 points against Drexel on February 6.

Kante is averaging a double-double this season with 13 points and 10.1 rebounds per contest, one of just 23 players nationally to average a double-double. A preseason All-CAA selection, Kante earned CAA Player of the Week honors on January 4. This season he has led Hofstra in rebounding on 15 occasions and in scoring four times. He ranks second in the league in rebounding, sixth in field goal percentage (.561), and 18th in scoring.

Coburn is averaging 15.7 points, 4.1 rebounds, and has drained 50 three-pointers this season. He ranks second on the team in scoring and three-pointers and fourth in rebounding. In the CAA rankings, he is eighth in scoring, second in three-point field goals made per game (2.6), and fifth in three-point field goal percentage (.400). He tied his career-high with 28 points at James Madison on February 13 and on January 24 he hit seven three-pointers to fall one shy of the school record.

It was an incredible and inspirational start to the career for Cramer as he is averaging 9.3 points and 6.6 rebounds per game this year, while starting 12 of the 21 games he has played in. After a 1,366-day layoff from his last high school game to his first college contest, Cramer didn’t skip a beat as he ranks fourth in scoring and second in rebounding on the team.

Hofstra is the first-ever CAA school to receive both the Dean Ehlers Leadership Award and the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award in back-to-back years since the Scholar-Athlete award began in 2003. Coburn is the first player to win both in the same season since Caleb Donnelly of Northeastern in 2015-16 and Hofstra is the first repeat Dean Ehlers recipient since Northeastern in 2014-15 and 2015-16. Coburn was the Scholar-Athlete Award recipient a season ago and Desure Buie received the Dean Ehlers Award in 2019-20.

Hofstra opens play in the CAA Championship on Sunday at 11 a.m. when it takes on Delaware in the quarterfinals. The game will be broadcast on FloHoops.

For more information on the Hofstra University Athletics Department fans are encouraged to click on the link seen here:

Hofstra University Athletics – Official Athletics Website (gohofstra.com)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: