Leave a comment

Madison Square Garden Teams with Nation’s Top Coaches and Prominent College Basketball Figures for Special Message

Madison Square Garden Entertainment Corp. partnered with many of the nation’s top coaches and prominent figures in the college basketball community to come together for a special thank you message honoring the many heroes leading the way in the fight against the coronavirus pandemic. The list of participants includes NCAA National Champions, Conference Champions and Hall of Famers.

Since hosting its first college basketball game over 85 years ago, Madison Square Garden has hosted over 3400 games, welcomed over 21 million spectators and provided countless memories for athletes, coaches and generations of fans.

We would like to thank all those who participated in this special video including: Val Ackerman – BIG EAST Conference, Mike Anderson – St. John’s University, Jim Boeheim – Syracuse University, John Calipari – University of Kentucky, Ed Cooley – Providence College, Jamie Dixon – Texas Christian University, Patrick Ewing – Georgetown University, Tom Izzo – Michigan State University, Mike Krzyzewski – Duke University, Steve Pikiell – Rutgers University, Rick Pitino – Iona College, Bill Raftery – Fox Sports / CBS Sports, Bill Self – University of Kansas, Dick Vitale – ESPN, Kevin Willard – Seton Hall University, Jay Wright – Villanova University, and a special appearance by legendary St. John’s head coach, Louie Carnesecca.

Val Ackerman – Named the fifth Commissioner of the BIG EAST Conference on June 26, 2013.

Mike Anderson – First year at St. John’s University. Previous head coach at UAB, Missouri and Arkansas. Over his 18 seasons as a head coach, Anderson has compiled a 383–211 record, 11 20-win campaigns, 9 NCAA Tournament appearances, two Sweet 16 berths and a run to the 2009 Elite Eight.

Jim Boeheim – Has led the Orange to five Big East Tournament championships, and 34 NCAA Tournament appearances, including five Final Four appearances and won the 2003 National Championship. He has 78 victories at MSG including the six-OT thriller against UConn on March 12, 2009. The Orange beat the Huskies 127-117 in one of the longest games in college basketball history.

John Calipari –Won the NCAA Championship in 2012 and has been named Naismith College Coach of the Year three times (1996, 2008 and 2015), and was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2015.

Lou Carnesecca – Led the St. John’s basketball program to 526 wins and 200 loses over 24 seasons. Captured 5 Big East regular season titles, 2 Big East Tournament titles and an NCAA Tournament Final Four appearance in 1985. Inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in 1992.

Ed Cooley – Named 15th head coach at Providence on March 22, 2011. Has led the Friars to the 2014 Big East Tournament Championship and five consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances.

Jamie Dixon – He has earned four college basketball National Coach of the Year honors, including the 2009 Naismith Coach of the Year. During the 2017-18 season, Dixon led TCU back to the NCAA Tournament for the first time in 20 years by coaching the Horned Frogs to a 21-12 record.

Patrick Ewing – Named head coach at Georgetown University on April 3, 2017. He is recognized as the greatest men’s basketball player at GU and one of the top 50 players in the National Basketball Association. He was elected to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008.

Tom Izzo – Led the Spartans to the 2000 & 2009 NCAA National Championship, along with 8 Final Four appearances, 10 Big Ten championships, 6 Big Ten Tournament championships, 22 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances and was elected to the Naismith Basketball Hall of fame in 2016.

Coach Krzyzewski – Has led the Blue Devils to 5 NCAA Championships, 12 Final Fours and 15 ACC Championship. Became the Division I men’s career wins leader on Nov. 15, 2011, at Madison Square Garden, with his 903rd victory. Additionally, he earned his historic 1,000th career victory at MSG on Jan. 25, 2015.

Steve Pikiell – Named Rutgers head coach on March 19, 2016. During the 2019-20 season, Pikiell led Rutgers to a 20-11 overall record and 11-9 in the Big Ten Conference. He earned the Jim Phelan Award for national coach of the year from Colleginsiders.com.

Rick Pitino – Recently named new Iona head coach. Pitino led Kentucky to an NCAA championship in 1996. He is the only coach to lead three different schools (Providence, Kentucky, and Louisville) to a Final Four. In 2013, he was elected to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Bill Raftery – Analyst for Fox Sports and CBS Sports. From 1970 to 1981, he was the head coach of Seton Hall University.

Bill Self – Led the Jayhawks to an NCAA record 14 straight Big 12 regular season championships, 3 NCAA Final Four appearances and the 2008 NCAA Championship. He was inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of fame in 2017.

Dick Vitale – ESPN’s top men’s college basketball analyst. Inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of fame in 2017.

Kevin Willard – Led the Pirates to the 2016 Big East Championship. Lead his team to 4 straight 20-win seasons and 4 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances.

Jay Wright – Two-time NCAA National Champion and has led the Villanova Wildcats to six Big East conference championships and 14 NCAA Tournament appearances and the Final Four in 2009.

About Madison Square Garden Entertainment Corp.
Madison Square Garden Entertainment Corp. (MSG Entertainment) is a leader in live entertainment experiences. The Company presents or hosts a broad array of events in its diverse collection of venues: New York’s Madison Square Garden, Hulu Theater at Madison Square Garden, Radio City Music Hall and Beacon Theatre; and The Chicago Theatre. MSG Entertainment is also building a new state-of-the-art venue in Las Vegas, MSG Sphere at The Venetian, and has announced plans to build a second MSG Sphere in London, pending necessary approvals. In addition, the Company features the original production – the Christmas Spectacular Starring the Radio City Rockettes – and through Boston Calling Events, produces the Boston Calling Music Festival. Also under the MSG Entertainment umbrella is Tao Group Hospitality, with entertainment dining and nightlife brands including Tao, Marquee, Lavo, Avenue, Beauty & Essex and Cathédrale. More information is available at www.msgentertainment.com.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: