Leave a comment

St. Francis College Brooklyn Men’s Basketball star Chauncey Hawkins Selected to 2020 DI-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team

St. Francis College Brooklyn men’s basketball junior guard Chauncey Hawkins was selected to the 2020 Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) 18th Annual Scholar-Athlete Team.

Hawkins, an Accounting major registered a 3.30 GPA and becomes the second Terrier in as many years to be named to the team joining former teammate Glenn Sanabria, who took home the same honor in 2019. 11 student-athletes from across the nation comprise the DI-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team and Hawkins was the lone student-athlete from a Northeast Conference (NEC) school to earn the prestigious honor.

“We are very proud of Chauncey for earning this prestigious academic honor in addition to his tremendous accomplishments on the court. He is an outstanding student-athlete in the process of working towards his Master’s degree in Accounting. This is a great achievement for him and his family as he continues to work extremely hard both on the court and in the classroom,” said Terriers’ Head Coach Glenn Braica.

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees is required to maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. Nominees must have participated in at least 50 percent (50%) of the team’s games listed on the nomination form. To be eligible for nomination to the Scholar-Athlete Team, he/she must have reached junior academic standing at their institution (ineligible athletics transfers are NOT eligible).

Hawkins was named to the All-NEC Third Team for the first time in his career and was a member of the NEC Academic Honor Roll following his junior season. He finished the 2019-20 campaign averaging a team-best 15.1 points per game to go along with 3.7 rebounds, 3.2 assists, and 1.8 steals per contest. The guard led the Terriers in points per game, assists per game, and steals per game. He ranked eighth in the NEC in scoring, eighth in assists per game, seventh in free-throw percentage (81.7%), tied for fourth in steals per game, and was tied for the 10th-best assist-to-turnover ratio (1.4) in the conference.

Hawkins scored in double-digits a team-high 24 times this season and also scored 20 or more points in a game nine times, which was also a team-high. In the Terriers’ final regular season game of the season, a win at Central Connecticut State, Hawkins scored a career-high 38 points. He shot 8-of-20 from the field, 3-of-7 from three-point range, and 19-of-20 from the free-throw line. The 19 made free-throws tied the program record and are the third-most in a game in NEC history. Hawkins’ 38 points against Central were the second-most scored in a game by an NEC student-athletes this season. He was the first Terrier to score 30 or more points in a game since Yunus Hopkinson recorded 34 points against Sacred Heart on February 9, 2017.

On December 16, Hawkins was named the NEC Player of the Week after averaging 19.0 points, 3.0 rebounds, and 1.5 assists per game in a pair of home wins for the Terriers. He became the first Terrier to earn the NEC Player of the Week honor this season, and it was the first time in his career that he claimed the award.

Additionally, Hawkins was named the College Sports Madness NEC Player of the Week and was tabbed a Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association Weekly Honorable Mention that week. He has accumulated 1,005 points over the course of his career on Remsen Street. Hawkins became the 33rd member of the Terriers’ 1,000 Point Club on March 4, in the NEC Quarterfinals at Robert Morris.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA Athletics Directors were responsible for selecting the winners. The 2020 Review Committee consisted of: Chris Reynolds (Committee Chair), Bradley University; Chasse Conque, UTRGV; Irma Garcia, St. Francis College Brooklyn; Phil Hutcheson, Lipscomb University; Robert Lineburg, Radford University; Joan McDermott, University of San Francisco; Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul University; Marianne Reilly, Manhattan College; and Kenneth Siegfried, Cal State Bakersfield.

About the Division I-AAA ADA:

Now in its 19th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit http://www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 55th year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: