Leave a comment

Hofstra’s Men’s Basketball Justin Wright-Foreman Drafted By The Utah Jazz

Hofstra University senior guard Justin Wright-Foreman took another step in his incredible journey as he was selected by the Utah Jazz with the 53rd pick (second round) in the 2019 National Basketball Association draft, held on Thursday evening at the Barclays Center.

Wright-Foreman is the 12th player in program history to be taken in the NBA draft. He is the first since Charles Jenkins was drafted 44th (second round) by the Golden State Warriors in 2011.

Wright-Foreman finished second nationally in scoring this season with 27.1 points per game. He closed his career with 2,327 points and ranks second all-time at Hofstra behind Jenkins (2,513). Wright-Foreman concluded his career by scoring in double figures in 88 consecutive games, the seventh-longest streak in the history of NCAA Division I. He also ranks second all-time in program history with 277 three-pointers.

Wright-Foreman earned a slew of accolades this season as he was named the Colonial Athletic Association Player of the Year for the second consecutive season and also captured 14 different weekly awards during the regular season. He was also named a finalist for the Jerry West Award as the nation’s top shooting guard, the United States Basketball Writers Association District II Player of the Year, the Eastern College Athletic Conference Player of the Year well as first team honors from the CAA, the National Association of Basketball Coaches and the Met Basketball Writers Association. He also earned Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American honors.

Hofstra Players Drafted By the NBA/ABA
John Mills (1947)        Providence Steamrollers
Bill Thieben (1956)        Fort Wayne Zollner Pistons
Richie Swartz (1962)        Seventh Round – New York Knicks
Steve Nisenson (1965)        Fifth Round – New York Knicks
Barry White (1969)        Eighth Round – Baltimore Bullets
Quinas Brower (1972)        New York Nets (ABA)
John Irving (1976)        Ninth Round – Phoenix Suns
Bernard Tomlin (1976)        Sixth Round – New Orleans Jazz
John Irving (1977)        Third Round – Detroit Pistons
Rich Laurel (1977)        First Round – Portland Trailblazers
Henry Hollingsworth (1979)    Eighth Round – New Jersey Nets
Doug Mills (1984)        Tenth Round – Atlanta Hawks
Craig “Speedy” Claxton (2000)    First Round – Philadelphia 76ers
Charles Jenkins (2011)        Second Round – Golden State Warriors
Justin Wright-Foreman (2019)    Second Round – Utah Jazz

For more information on the Hofstra University Athletics Department fans are encouraged to click on the link seen here:


%d bloggers like this: